Vision & Mission

Our vision:
To be the platform of choice for African Tax Research.

Our mission:
Facilitate African capacity for credible research in tax policy, administration, law and leadership.


The establishment of the ATRN was as a result of the need to identify potential synergies and linkage areas between academics and tax officials from the African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF) member countries.

ATAF is a network promoting cooperation, knowledge sharing and capacity building among African revenue authorities. It seeks to ensure greater synergy and cooperation in capacity development amongst all relevant stakeholders to reduce duplication and give greater support to African Tax Administrations.

The ATRN finds it beginnings from an ATAF convened African Academic Forum in August 2013 in Nairobi, the outcome culminated into the subsequent formation of an ATRN Steering Committee in May 2014. The objectives of the network are:

  • To generate research results for use by policymakers and tax administrators.
  • To promote links between tax researchers, policy makers and stakeholders.
  • To build an independent network of academics in Africa, policy makers, tax administrators and independent tax researchers.
  • To influence the African tax research agenda.


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is chaired by:

Dr. Nara Monkam is director of Research at the African Tax Administration and Chairman of the ATRN Interim Board. She is also a member of the Davis Tax Committee, appointed in July 2013 by the Minister of Finance to reassess the South African tax system. Her qualifications include a PhD in Economics from the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University in Atlanta (USA), an MA in Economics and a BS in Economics from the Facultés Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix (University of Namur) in Namur, Belgium. She is a Public Finance Economist with experience in public economics, intergovernmental fiscal relations, and sub-national government finance.

Members of the Scientific Committee:

  • Tomas Balco (Ministry of Finance, SK)
  • Zie Ballo (Université de Cocody-Abidjan, CI)
  • Jean-François Brun (University of Auvergne, FR)
  • Estian Calitz (Emeritus Professor of Economics Stellenbosch University, ZA)
  • John Chakasikwa (Zimbabwe Revenue Authority, ZW)
  • Eloi Diarra (University Rouen, FR)
  • Souleymane Diarra (West African Economic and Monetary Union's Commission, BF)
  • Mike Durst (International Centre for Tax and Development, UK)
  • Ted Keen (Ernst & Young LLP, Economist)
  • Jan Isaksen (Chr. Michelsen Institute, NO)
  • Nalukwago Milly Isingoma (Uganda Revenue Authority, UGA)
  • Ada Jansen (Stellenbosch University, ZA)
  • Samuel S. Jibao (Center for Economic Research and Capacity Building, SL)
  • Agnes Kanyangeyo (Rwanda Revenue Authority, RW)
  • William McCluskey (African Tax Institute, UK)
  • Matthew Marcus (South African Revenue Service, ZA)
  • Giulia Mascagni (Institute of Development Studies, UK)
  • Nicaisse Mede (CERAF, BJ)
  • Savior Mwambwa (Tax Justice Network Africa-Nairobi, KE)
  • Abdoulaye Niane (University of Bambey in Dakar, SN)
  • Annet Oguttu (University of South Africa, ZA)
  • Sol Piciotto (Emeritus Professor of Law, Lancaster University, UK)
  • Pundy Pillay (University of Witwatersrand School of Governance, ZA)
  • Christiane Schuppert (Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), DE)
  • Witness Simbanegavi (African Economic Research Consortium, KE)
  • Wynnona Steyn (South African Revenue Service, ZA)
  • Attiya Waris (University of Nairobi, KE)
  • Stephanus Van Zyl (University of South Africa, ZA)
  • Tracy Gutuza (University of Cape Town, ZA)
  • Rota-Graziosi Gregoire (CERDI-CNRS, University of Auvergne, FR)
  • Vera Mshana (Open Society Institute, US)
  • Judy Mbugua (Kenya Revenue Services, KE)
  • Tobias Fleckenstein (GIZ, DE)
  • Phield Ngwewa (Zambia Revenue Authority, ZM)
  • Gargouri Slim (Chartered Accountant, TU)
  • Ezera Madzivanyika (Zimbabwe Revenue Authority, ZW)
  • Eutycus Makau (Kenya Revenue Authority, KE)
  • Nara Monkam (ATAF - Director of Research, CA)
  • Marius van Oordt (African Tax Institute, ZA)
  • Gael Raballand (World Bank, FR)
  • Evan Blecher (World Health Organization, SW)
  • Bhavish Jugurnath (University of Mauritius, MA)
  • Barbara Dutzler (GIZ, AU)
  • Abiodun Adewale Adegboye (Obafemi Awolowo University, NI)
  • Ralf Uhl (ATAF, DE)
  • Lee Corrick (ATAF, UK)
  • Mamiky Leolo (South African Revenue Service, ZA)
  • Tracey Brooks (ATAF, UK)
  • Maurice Ochieng (GIZ, KE)
back to top
Powered by JS Network Solutions